Buildings of Lorne

Lorne, has a history involving many homes, hotels and buildings. The Mountjoy family built the first real dwelling in Lorne consisting of just two rooms. As interest in Lorne grew, the Mountjoys extended their premises to cater for visitors whose numbers continued to increase as the word spread about the beautiful scenery and abundance of fish and game. They called their first building The Temperance Hotel as no alcohol was sold. Eventually the Mountjoy family renamed their hotel Erskine House.
(from Lorne A Living History by Doug Stirling)

Guesthouses of Lorne

At the beginning, sawmill workers who lived rough, often in tents, came into town for their night off on Saturdays. They wanted a good meal and somewhere to stay overnight. The families in town, the Stewarts, Clissolds, etc, had many children as well as taking these workers in, and so began to add more bedrooms....
Read more

Kincraig

“Kincraig” 1888, 236 Mountjoy Parade, Lorne This splendid villa designed by Geelong architect, Joseph Watt, takes a prime site with considerable panache. The verandah that sweeps around with widely-spaced, iron columns with interlocking leaf pattern lacework (“rinceau”), has fretwork ‘Chinese Chippendale’ balustrading. One can study two elements from two eras. The charming bay window and...
Read more

Ravenswood

“Ravenswood” c 1890s, 70 Smith Street, Lorne. The late 1890s house with its spreading verandah and fine timber work, as well as its major frontage to what would have been one of the great sea views, shows the advantage taken of one of Lorne’s choice locations. The square, flagpole-topped tower set to one side with...
Read more

Waverley House

Waverley House Waverley House and family Waverley House after 1939 bushfire Located at the corner of Deans March Road and Waverley Avenue, overlooking the Erskine River, was built in 1881 for Simon Staughton. The house was bought by the Lascelles family in 1908, then by Miss Cecily Lascelles, and after her death, Miss Hilda Lascelles...
Read more