Lorne Victoria Australia
1 – 3 Mountjoy Parade
- Baker’s Store
- Ridgeway’s Supermarket
- In 2003 Ridgeway’s Supermarket became Foodworks Lorne
- (LHS photo B604) Bridge over Erskine River, (L-R) Love’s Cottage, Baker’s Store. (LHS photo B604)
- Ridgeway Supermarket prior to the fire in 1983. (LHS photo 2285)
- 30 November 1983, Ridgeways Supermarket (Photo LHS 1677)
- Screenshot
Erskine Bridge
In the early days coaches would use a ford to cross the Erskine River coming in from Deans Marsh. The ford allowed the horses to have a drink of water and cool their feet after an arduous journey over Mount Benwerrin to Lorne. In 1898 a wooden bridge was built across the Erskine River. In 1946, a concrete bridge replaced the old timber bridge.
- Jan. 1892, Coach fording Erskine River. (LHS photo 734)
- Mountjoy Coach fording the Erskine River. (LHS photo 7130)
- Lorne Erskine River bridge, photo 2025
- 1946 Opening of the new Erskine River Bridge.
Kia Ora Caravan Park

2009, Kia-Ora Caravan Park
Erskine River Shops
15 Mountjoy Parade
(Ocean side of Mountjoy Parade)
- SUPERMODEL (Lorne Sculpture Exhibition)
- Old Power Station
- Visitor Information Centre
In his booklet “Lorne A Living History” by Doug Stirling, we read that the power station, owned by Winchelsea Shire Council, was used to provide lighting for Lorne in about 1920. Bob Reid, the first engineer, planted an oak tree which is still standing in front of today’s Visitor Information Centre. The power plant generated 240 volt DC power and operated until it closed in 1936, when the State Electrical Commission connected the 240 volt AC power supply.
- Erskine River, old power station visible looking across bridge through the trees. (LHS photo 6072)
- Electrical power station, top bank Erskine River. (LHS photo 8928)
- 2009, Visitor Information Centre
- 2009, Mantra
- 2009, Bowls Club
- 2009, Mantra
- 2009, Mantra, Old Erskine House Ballroom
- SUPERMODEL LSE 2014
- 2025, Lorne Visitor Information Centre, note oak tree.
16 Mountjoy Parade
- Erskine Cottage / Bridge House
- Gracedale Guesthouse was established near this location, Prior to Gracedale it was used in 1880 by George Stewart as a blacksmith shop.
- Lorne Community House “Fig Tree” opened in 1999.
- Lorne Historical Society
- Gracedale 1937-1943
- 2009
- 2009, Lorne Historical Society
- Lorne Historical Socitety, photo 2024
- 2024, Lorne Historical Society
- 2025, Lorne Community House, “Fig Tree”

2009, Otway Street roundabout
Move South on Mountjoy Parade
Erskine River Shops
This precinct has a huge amount of historic interest for Lorne and the wider community.recognised. It dates from 1878 as an important commercial area and continues to this day to be a much-loved place for people to gather in Lorne and enjoy the ambiance of a 138-year-old business area. In 2005 the Erskine River shops,...Read more
Erskine River Shops Heritage Assessment
Surf Coast Places of Cultural Significance Study Selected Lorne / Deans Marsh Heritage Place Assessments, 2003 (amended 2005) Site Name: Erskine River Shops Site No: 253 Address: 2-6 Mountjoy Parade Lorne Approx Date: 1878 Integrity: Good Significance Level: Local History This group of small timber shops, which includes a 19th century bootmaker’s shop, a turn...Read more





























